Who is allowed in the sanctuary?

(what I wouldn’t do for some altar rails…but I digress…:D)

Hi folks,

I’m hoping someone out there knows of some authoritative documents about who exactly has any business in the sanctuary area, specifically in the OF if that makes any difference.

I feel that at my parish, especially with the '80s architecture of the church building :blush:, the elevated area is so plain, it’s no wonder so many disregard its sacred nature.

I’ve done google searches, but can’t seem to find any specific instruction (other than common sense) on why it should be reserved for those who actually have a function at it. The Liturgy coordinator (no comments, please) seems to respond better whenever I have documentation.

Help please!

Peace, -Mike

I am just a layman Mike, but I honestly don’t know of any ‘official’ church documents that limit who is allowed in the Sanctuary. Curious now though, so hopefully others reply.

Pax
Cymonk

Mike,
A lot of this comes down to just what are you asking? Are you referring to what happens during Mass, or outside of Mass? And just who are you asking about?

Liturgical laws of the Church do not say “who is not allowed” but rather say “who is allowed.” And only those who have some legitimate purpose for being there, are those who should (or may) be there. Every person at Mass has a proper location. The Church doesn’t say “the laity are forbiden to enter the Sanctuary” but instead says that there is a proper place for the laity and a proper place for the clergy (and those who have a reason to be in the Sanctuary).

GIRM 295 defines the legitimate purpose of the Sanctuary. It’s not a place for people to be seated simply for the sake of being there, or being seen to be there.

Here’s the relevant section from the GIRM