Who Really Benefits From Abortion?

A lesson I learned from my father was this: if you want to understand why things are a certain way you need to answer one question: cui bono? Who benefits? I’ve found this to be a pretty reliable standard. Hopefully this won’t degenerate into Obama bashing, or Bush bashing. For the record, I dislike both of them about equally. I am not a liberal. I am not a conservative. I am not a Democrat. I am not a Republican. I am a Catholic.

I majored in ancient history. I don’t believe in progress. I believe, as Ecclesiastes said, there is nothing new under the sun. I believe that politicians are not so much immoral as amoral. They will do what they think is necessary to be elected. I believe that, in America today, we do not have two major parties but one that pretends to be two. The Democrats have become the party that is not Republican, and vice versa.

The two “sides” air their differences publicly to obscure the fact that there really is, in effect, only one party and it represents only one constituent: money. For example, $700 billion for the banks, $787 billion for the rest of the country; could our priorities be more clear? Where your treasure is, there your heart will also be. As a society, we are not a Christian nation, we serve Mammon.

A figure for comparison: according to WHO figures, $700 billion is enough money to end hunger. On Earth. For a generation. I think I remember Jesus having a few things to say about feeding the hungry. But I digress.

What does any of this have to do with abortion? Well, as much as we like to demonize Planned Parenthood, it is, after all, a non-profit. And its budget is in the millions…compared to the numbers that get tossed around so casually these days, rather small. So who is making the real money? Well, take a look at any of the lists of companies that support abortion, like this one:

catholic-forum.com/forums/showpost.php?p=19728&postcount=15