Who should you talk to first about discernment?

I’ve been discerning a call to religious life for several months now and though I am still in the beginning stages, I’m interested in becoming more active in my discernment – exploring specific orders and also becoming more involved in my parish. I would like to get a spiritual director and maybe talk to my parish priest some about this. Should I tell my parents about my possible vocation first, or is it okay to pursue this on my own for a while before I let them know I’m even thinking about it? (I’m 16, almost 17) Right now only two other people I really trust know I’m discerning.

Thanks!

~lefty22

As a general principle, I wouldn't advocate that teens keep things from their parents. But depending upon your particular circumstances, perhaps there could be a reason to hold off for just a little? I would not presume to know this.

Talking to your parish priest sounds like a good first step. He will be able to point you in the right direction regarding spiritual direction and he will probably be able to address any concerns you may have about telling your parents of your possible vocation.

I've not been in your position, but, first, let me say how happy I am for you. Whether you continue on, or not, at least you are conscious of God in your life. If you keep Him close to you, no matter what career you follow in life, you'll always be happy. In discerning a vocation at your age, I'd like to feel that you'd first make your parents aware of what's attracting you. Your pastor would be your next contact. He can help you discern by alerting you to the possibility of retreats or devotions that will give your mind and soul the necessary ingredients to decide. You will have time to finish high school befre pursuing a vocation, so there's no need to feel like you need to make any hasty decisions. Good luck and God bless.