Why am I ALWAYS unemployed?

I was born a Catholic. I became a Protestant later in life. I was taught that God had a plan for my life. I should pray about things they said. Well I do believe that. But sometimes I feel so very lost, like now!

I am in my early 50s. I am unemployed for years. I have a college degree and skills. The field I am in is very, very competitive. But I thought it was a good fit. My whole life has been one big professional struggle. I don't know if I can't focus or just don't kiss but enough.

I thought God was in control of where I go in life. But I suppose that's a wrong teaching. I don't know.

What does a person like me do? I have a family for crying out loud!

Certainly our lives require one's effort and choice, in cooperation with God's grace.
God gives us the gifts to act with the grace God gives.
However you would know that our personal effort is required for the direction of our lives, because I'm sure you've tried many times for employment.

We have free will so we make choices, and as it happened, your career choice unfortunately appears to be excessively competitive. You made the choice according to the talents you received, and your interests, which is the normal reason for choosing a career. It is a very difficult time when many are out of work, but you know that too.

When Jesus spoke in the gospels He didn't say that every aspect of our lives were determined by God. He did say God is acutely aware of us, each hair of our head even, but He did direct us to live according to the commandments, which is God's basic life-plan for us.

I feel concern or you, for your frustration and anxiety for your family and future, and ask God to guide and assist you in your search for work.

First of all, I would like to say that my heart goes out to you. I'm incredibly sorry for the issue that you are going through and I sincerely hope in the grand scheme of things it is resolved.