Why are Catholics replacing Crucifixes with Resifixes?

Now don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a good resifix, but NOT when it replaces a crucifix above the altar! :mad:

Why are we doing this? Were making our selves look more protestant. Seriously. I even considered changing rites from Roman Catholic to either Byzantine or Eastern Catholic.

But please tell me; someone, what is the main reason we change these? Is a smaller crucifix hidden somewhere?

Thanks!

:confused: Haven’t seen much of this in my area. Perhaps it’s just in your parishes and the ones you’ve attended. I wouldn’t go changing rites based on that alone…find another parish if your only concern is the lack of a crucifix.

If you are near Roswell, at least you have that choice! :wink:

That said, I will watch this thread with interest. I have no knowledge of a trend or rationale, and it will be interesting to see if one surfaces.

Meanwhile, I’ll do some digging on the actual form. My guess is that is an invention of some untrained amateur “iconographer” who, while well intended, created something that isn’t consistent with tradition.

I am aware of this “sculpture”, the so-called Resurrection Cross, which at the very least portrays Christ as a “shadow” on the Cross in crucified posture. The physical absence of the Most Pure Body with the imprint still visible is, at least, true to both the Passion and the Resurrection messages.

Maybe talk to your Priest about it and if something still feels out of place ask your Bishop? If it is not liturgically correct the Bishop will resolve the issue.

Haven’t seen it around here either. :confused:

It is a holdover from the 1970s when that kind of “nice” stuff was popular.

The first time I saw one was in a church that had a school on the grounds.

Maybe, if there is a trend at all, it’s for the children. :shrug:

I have never come across this in churches I have been in in the UK. I suppose there might be some, but I don’t think it’s general.