Why are there no more public miracles?

Hi,

I wonder why is it that there are no public miracles in the western world these days? The kind of miracles that not just 1 or a few close people experience?

I’m studying the history of Europe during the period of what’s usually termed the ‘Dark Ages’ after ‘the fall of the Roman Empire’ (although this is ambiguous & a later assertion), 4-500’s & onwards, I’ve come to realize what an incredible power miracles had on society & the conversion of Europe to Christianity & specifically Catholic Christianity as opposed to Arianism. For example, Gregory of Tours history of the franks, the bishops & monastics of Nicene Christianity performed a lot of miracles which the Arians couldn’t do & this had the effect of eventually converting the goths to Catholicism. I believe Gregory was right because at that time, the goths, who were Arians, were more powerful politically & militarily than the early franks.

Many times miracles was associated with relics of saints, but not always.

Imagine that at least someone of all the people you knew had personally experienced some kind of miracle, such as being miraculously healed or seeing an apparition of Christ or a Saint etc.

What makes you think there are not?

Just wait a while.

1917 Fatima, Miracle of the Sun, 100,000 witnesses
1970 Cairo, Apparitions of Zeitoun, 250,000 witnesses
1860 -2011, 69 medically unexplainable cures at Lourdes
2005, French nun cured of Parkinsons due to intercession of Pope Saint John Paul II
2011, Costa rican Mother cured of brain aneurysm due to intercession of JPII
throughout 20th century, numerous miracles of Padre Pio, including bi-location, reading of souls and stigmata
about 40 Eucharistic miracles including Buenos Aires in 1996 (actual flesh and blood) and presently at Lanciano Italy.