Why are we allowed to take communion under only one species?

I am an RCIA teacher, and one of my candidates asked me why in the gospel of John 6 Jesus repeatedly mentions that we should eat His flesh AND drink His blood. Yet at communion, we are able to receive either one or the other. An explanation that the magisterium approved reception under only one species did not suffice. Please help me to answer him.

When we receive the host, it is 100% the body & blood of Jesus. Likewise with the wine. So only one is necessary.

Each species is the full and complete Body, Blood, Soul and Divinity of our Lord Jesus Christ. We recieve ALL His grace by receiving only one species.

It’s quite true that you only have to receive one. That’s the clear teaching of the Church. However, in most western locales, the practice of the laity receiving from the Chalice has been restored. Does your priest or bishop not allow this (It’s certainly within his right)?

For a Catholic who understands that the Church has the ability to administer the Sacraments, the Church authority is sufficient. For someone new to the Catholic faith they also need to read St. Paul where he says unworthy reception of either sins against both.

Thank you. This was also explained and he is able to believe this, but doesn’t understand the insistance of Jesus that we both eat of His body and drink of His blood. The magisterium’s authority aside, he is looking for a more academic and theological response. Any help is appreciated.

Because Jesus is not rendered asunder, His blood separated from His body. He is risen, whole, complete.

Perhaps discussing John 6:51, with Jesus saying: “I am the living bread that came down from heaven. Whoever eats of this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh.”

Perhaps highlight that adults do normally receive Communion under both kinds at their first communion: