Why are you STILL watching TV?

Just curious. With all the scientific data we know about television viewing, a lot of people apparently still spend a lot of their free time with television.

What keeps you watching it?

are you going to provide us with this scientific data (be warned I majored in Mass Comm and am familiar with most of the research in this area, esp. as relates to effects of TV on kids, so be accurate).

do you really want to know the answer, or do you want a platform for a rant? I suspect most people watch TV for the same reasons they engage in any other recreational activity–to recreate.

I don’t watch that much tv…except on the weekends. I like hearing the news…and I love EWTN. I think that TV can be a vehicle of good and a conduit of evil…it’s all in how much you watch it, and how much you rely on it for your recreation. If you spend oodles of time watching tv, and never do anything else–that is not healthy. I also like Lifetime…and sometimes, documentaries on HBO. I will say that there is a tendency to becoming lazy, when relying on tv too much for entertainment. But, then again–online usage also can be detrimental, too. It’s in moderation, and making sure you’re not watching immoral things, as well. That is key.

Well…
The Office
Forensics Files on Court TV.
The Investigators on Court TV.
Dirty Jobs with Mike Rowe on Discovery.
Bear Grills on Discovery.
Survivor Man.
Man Vs Wild
Cash Cab
Myth Busters
Animal Planet
History Channel

What’s wrong with any of those?

plain and simple because i am addicted if they had TV Annonmous i would join!! Lent is the only time of year i go without and i love not always being a “boob toob” but i always end up getting sucked back in.

I think for me i just want to escape for a few minutes from my life as a 24/7 mom.