Why be Catholic and not Orthodox?

Hi,

Why be Catholic and not Orthodox? I am trying to learn about the Papacy, but don’t know much. I have read about the scriptures and Peter and how the Apostles and Paul went to Peter a lot of times.

I know the Orthodox Church never had an ecumenical council with the Catholic church of Rome to use the same scriptures. I am still learning this and how there was never a universal canon of scripture in the early church.

Rome, Constantinople, Antioch (Syria), Jerusalem, and Alexandria. Where do the last four fit and why did Rome have the authority to be head of the Church? What are the main arguments from both the Orthodox and Catholic Church?

Thanks You and God Bless You!
Brian

[quote="GodHeals, post:1, topic:287374"]
Hi,

Why be Catholic and not Orthodox?

[/quote]

Hard to say. Both churches have valid sacraments and apostolic secession.

JPII said we are "two lungs of the same body."

I've thought about that myself.

A big question. Too big for one or a million threads on an internet message board. Others can give their reasoning.

I am trying to learn about the Papacy, but don’t know much. I have read about the scriptures and Peter and how the Apostles and Paul went to Peter a lot of times.

Yes.

I know the Orthodox Church never had an ecumenical council with the Catholic church of Rome to use the same scriptures. I am still learning this and how there was never a universal canon of scripture in the early church.