Why become a Catholic?

Cross Posted from “Family Life”

Hey there!

Please let me preface this post by saying that currently I am an investigator in the Catholic Church, due to start RCIA on Sept 23. I am engaged to a wonderful, non-christian man (I know you may think it’s an oxymoron…), due to be married on Oct 2nd of this year. These are honest questions, and I’m not trying to incite a riot grins, but I fully understand that this can be a terribly uncomfortable topic for some people. I do apologize in advance if I cause anyone to be uncomfortable or what not.

Okay…

As I mentioned above, I’m a newbie to Catholicism…and most of the things I am reading and learning about are fine and I can honestly say that I’m open to the teachings of the Catholic Church. However, there are some questions and issues being raised for me in regards to sex.

Sexuality and physical intimacy have always been a huge part of my identity. I have always identified as a bisexual, polyamorous woman and have been involved with multiple people at once. Currently, my spice and I are only with each other, but there have been times during our 3 years together, when we have also dated/“KNOWN” others. We also enjoy some rather unique bedroom activities (roleplay, BDSM, crossdressing, etc). In addition, Spice and I are not sure that we want to be parents. (Do cats count??)

My concern is that should I decide to continue with the RCIA process beyond the inquiry period, that I will be “Strongly Encouraged” to abandon our play. I realize that the Church preaches monogamy, and I’m wondering - does the Church have any teachings about kinky sex? I’m sorry, I’m not sure of any other way to phrase it…:frowning: Are there any groups out there that are tailored to Catholics who like to “Play?”

I really feel that this is the only thing holding me back from embracing the church…grrr…

I welcome any dialogue on this topic, and please feel free to message me privately!!

Blessings,

Jessica

Dear Jessica,