Why can a layman baptise when a priest is not available, but not annoint the sick?

I am a nurse in an Intensive Care Unit in a non Catholic hospital. We have had times when we have requested a priest for a patient or their family for anointing of the sick, but a minister comes and not a priest. We were told the priest was not on call this weekend. I told the minister, no offence, but we need a priest! Our patients are often near death and can’t wait until the priest is back on duty! Fortunately a priest from a local parish came to anoint the patient.

I was asked by one of my coworkers why a layman could baptize in an emergency, but not anoint a sick person. I was not able to give a clear answer and even after looking up the information in my Catechism, I don’t think I can give a good answer.

Please help!
dcud3

The tradition of the Church has long held that while the ordinary minister of baptism is clergy, in an emergency anyone may baptize.

Catholic Encyclopedia:

This right of any person whatsoever to baptize in case of necessity is in accord with the constant tradition and practice of the Church. Tertullian (De Bapt., vii) says, speaking of laymen who have an opportunity to administer baptism: “He will be guilty of the loss of a soul, if he neglects to confer what he freely can.” St. Jerome (Adv. Lucif., ix): “In case of necessity, we know that it is also allowable for a layman [to baptize]; for as a person receives, so may he give.” The Fourth Council of the Lateran (cap. Firmiter) decrees: “The Sacrament of Baptism … no matter by whom conferred is available to salvation.”

The constant teaching of the Church has been that because baptism so essential to salvation it is the will of Christ that it be readily available for the salvation of all.

Summa Theologica: