Why Christianity

Over the summer I had started questioning why I was a Catholic and why it seemed to make so much sense. I’ve come to realise that it really is because I was born in a Catholic family and have always been going to church and CCD (sunday school).

I mean, I believed in it back then but didn’t really understand it fully. In college I started learning more and more about it. But now I’m thinking that if I had been born in an areligious family then I wouldn’t even be dealing with these issues that I’m struggling with now. I’d have a less biased perspective on it and would feel less pressure to get meaning in my life through a religion.

Basically the only reason I feel that I would need to choose Christianity over any other religion would be because I do not want to go to Hell. Since it seems like I would have to follow it or else go to Hell because I am not ignorant of Catholicism.
What do you think?

I think continuing to be a Catholic will always include a certain amount of fear … fear most of all of offending our Lord … and the eternal consequence of the offense … Hell.

But I think fear by itself is not the only, or necessarily the most important, reason to hold on to your faith. If you believe in God, that might be because you don’t have just fear, but also hope in life everlasting.

Whether you have fear or hope … the thing to ask is, out of all the existing religions, which one makes the most sense?

Compare the teachings of Christ with the teachings of the founders of all the other world religions. Which teacher taught the most central truth that we all need to know? Which one not only taught that truth, but lived it beyond our doubting?

Staying with the Church is a decision that will prove its rewards in the course of a lifetime. All too often people give up on Christianity without having given themselves a chance to grow into Christ. I have known many young atheists/agnostics in that group.