Why did Absalom conspire against David?

In 2 Samuel 13-15 we see Absalom after his exile return to Jerusalem and then ultimately the presence of his father David. At some point Absalom conspires to take the throne from David.

I am having difficulty figuring out his motivation for this.

Is it as simple as wanting to be king? Or angry that David took so long to forgive his murder of Amnon? Or is there something deeper there?

Looking for ideas or commentaries on the topic,

Thanks,

I’m not an expert, but I thought it was because Absalom wanted to be king. Didn’t God also say that the sword would never part from David’s house as a result of God’s punishment for David’s prior actions?

Do you happen to know a Book Chapter Verse where God makes that promise?

And I agree it was motivated by the desire to become king, I was just curious if there could be other motivations as well, he seems to go from wanting David’s forgiveness to immediately planning on taking over the throne.

Thank you

Yes, 2 Samuel 12:10

Therefore the sword shall never depart from thy house, because thou hast despised me, and hast taken the wife of Urias the Hettite to be thy wife.

Thanks

My pleasure.