Why did God allow us to have free will when most of people end up denying him?

I'd rather have a God who didn't give us a choice. When you give people choices most choose the dumbest thing possible. I'd rather God was someone who simply forced us to be good and simply destroyed evil rather than letting it occur. So why do people say free will is so good. Free will is terrible and is the only reason people are in hell. If God simply got rid of free will, it would be amazing.

For me personally, even though, as a humble sinner I couldn’t claim to know the mind of God
I would much rather people chose to obey me rather than being forced… I’m no expert but it’s just my own thoughts.

He could build a machine for each and every person. Every where you go the machine goes as well. It is humanoid shaped but it made of metal. The machine is given power to know all of your thoughts and mind. Whatever you think, it thinks. Anytime you think wrongly the machine punishes you.

To really love God, or any other person, love must come from our own free will. No one can tell you, not even God to love him, it has to be a conscious and personel chose. You cannot demand love, it has to be given Freely. Would life be simpler, who knows, but it wouldn’t be love.

If God got rid of free will, how would he know that you love him. If your wife says Wild Catholic you must love me, how long would your marriage last.

[quote="WildCatholic, post:1, topic:318438"]
I'd rather have a God who didn't give us a choice. When you give people choices most choose the dumbest thing possible. I'd rather God was someone who simply forced us to be good and simply destroyed evil rather than letting it occur. So why do people say free will is so good. Free will is terrible and is the only reason people are in hell. If God simply got rid of free will, it would be amazing.

[/quote]