Why did the Catholic Church use Latin for 2000 years?

When I was a fundamentalist I used to hear the Catholic Church had the Mass in Latin to keep people in darkness and from understanding what was going on.
Why did the Catholic Church use Latin for 2000 years?

Deleted, post twice.

I am not an expert. I’m sure others are much more familiar with the history. Latin was not always the language used in the mass. The shift to Latin was for uniformity in celebration, and if the shift was early it was because it was still a living language of the Roman Empire at the time. While I can understand the criticism, at the same time it seems beautiful to think of the mass being celebrated exactly the same way, even in language, worldwide. Keep in mind Latin was the official language of the Church even in later centuries (a common language known by members of the Church everywhere) and it was also a lingua franca even among the more educated of the laity.

That’s not to say I think it should be exclusively in Latin today or that it’s the best choice for all times and places, but I would not cast the use of Latin in a malicious or conspiratorial light.

Latin was replaced by the vernacular language after Vatican II. I grew up in the Catholic faith, went to Catholic school from 1st grade through High School. I learned Latin in grade school and high school. However, even for those who did not, our prayer books/ missals contained all the prayers of the Mass in Latin and in English, side by side. No one was “kept in the dark” by the use of Latin. When traveling to any foreign country, I could attend Mass and understand perfectly since the Mass was exactly the same everywhere. the Catholic Church is ONE, worldwide. Hope this helps you. :slight_smile:

Rather the reverse. The Catholic Church used Latin to ensure understanding. And even then it was not that in the beginning.