Why did you convert to the Catholic faith?

I’ve read recently that a lot of people post that they converted from being Protestant to Catholic? What lead you to to the Catholic faith?

read the catechism

Honestly, my husband led me to the church. When we started getting serious we decided we needed to be members of the same church. He went to mine a few times and really didn’t like it. I started going to Mass with him and found I really did like it. I studied and I prayed and I went through RCIA.

“When G. K. Chesterton was asked why he became a Catholic, his short answer was: ‘To get rid of my sins.’”

I can identify with G. K. :smiley:

As to what has brought me to the Catholic Church: Honesty.

For me it was reading the Bible and the early church fathers like Justin, Irenaeus and Tertullian, etc. And lots of prayer.
Jaypeeto2

I have found that this question can be honestly answered by me in dozens of different ways. So many people played a role… I’ll only name two:

1. CS Lewis: Catholics often wonder why he never became Catholic. I don’t know why, but I know that if he were Catholic, Protestants wouldn’t read his books. And when they do read his books, what they encounter is something so close to Catholicism, and yet “safe”. That was my experience, though I didn’t know it. When I read him, I found a Christian I could relate to, and whose style was so rich and full. Once I had read all his books, I went looking for something else like it, but could not find it in Protestantism. At the time, I thought my preference was for older more classic writers, but I realize now that I was hungering for the fullness of the faith (which classic writers such as Bunyan, Calvin, Edwards, and Warfield could not provide). Then I discovered Chesterton and the race was on…