Why do non-Catholics try to use our Scriptures against us?

I know that this question is raised often but usually within the context of other questions. It just puzzles me why people think they should do it or even could do it.

As a United Methodist Pastor I knew that the Catholics were right years before I converted. I never used the Scriptures to attack the Church. I couldn’t understand then nor do I understand now why non or anti-Catholic think they can use the Scriptures against those by whom and for whom they exist.

Perhaps someone has an answer for this.

CDL

Obstinacy, lunacy, triumphalism, or perhaps just plain ignorance.

I asked a similar question in another thread.

Do Catholics Hate the Bible?

Because so many of our Catholic brothers and sisters are so badly indoctrinated that these non-Catholics can get away with it. And many Catholics do not read the Bible, therefore, cannot use the Bible to defend their faith… I’ve seen so many JWs who were Catholics, it makes me wonder what in the world they were taught that they had to leave the one True faith.

:frowning:

As a non Catholic I think I can answer this question even though I personally don’t use the bible against folks, I just don’t know it well enough.

A lot of my fellow Atheists use scriptures against folks like you because thats all a lot of you know. At least thats true for the Christians who come harass us on atheist forums. We ask for sources other than your scriptures to back up “scientific facts” that they present…and time and time again all we get is more verses from the bible. Yes, the Christian that come on the atheist forums to harass us are typically pretty dumb, you guys don’t seem nearly as bad. Also, your beliefs are rooted in your scriptures so it only makes sense that we use those to try to make at least you see where we’re coming from.

Not to offend any of you, I don’t mean offence at all…thats just what I’ve observed and experienced.