Why does God allow suffering?

For the whole of this year my family have been living an horrendous nightmare. We are suffering a complete injustice. God knows we are innocent and I pray and pray for God to put things right for us but still no change.
I’m new to the catholic faith (used to be a Baptist) but entered a catholic church in October and have found peace and strength, I feel drawn to Mother Mary and plead or her to pray for us, but my question is, why is God allowing this suffering, does He truly answer prayer? I get told to trust in God but sometimes I find this hard. Am I not praying properly. Oh please can someone advise me, I’d be ever so grateful.Thankyou.

God does answer prays. Sometimes it may seem like He is not answering our prayers, but it is not because He wants us to suffer, God loves us.

For example, when children get Chickenpox, what do we have to tell them? “Do not scratch!” Now to a child they are wondering why? Does my parent want me to sit here with this itch? If only they would let me scratch it, the itch would go away.

The parent knows better though. Even though at times we want something, God knows better. I have no idea what the suffering is that you are going through, but you seem to be going about it the right way.

Do not blame God, but rather pray as Jesus did, “Father, if you are willing, remove this chalice from me; nonetheless not my will, but yours, be done” Luke 22:42

Also, continue to ask the Blessed Mother to intercede for you. You and your family will get through it.

*The Value of Suffering *

A sermon by St. Alphonsus Liguori on the advantages of tribulations.

"Now when John had heard of the wonderful works of Christ," etc. Mat. 11:2.