Why is confession necessary?

I’m new to the faith and not much of an apologist so bear with me. My wife(who is a Baptist) and I were discussing the Sacrament of Reconciliation today, and she brought up the point of “If I can ask Jesus to forgive my sins and He will forgive them, why do I need to go to the priest for confession” to which I said “To reconcile with God and the Church community and because its kind of like therapy to talk about your sins and it helps to be told that no matter what you have done, that God and your Church forgives you” (OK answer, I hope!!!:confused: ). Then she asked if it was an obligation that had to be met and I told her it was at least once a year at Easter(I think?) and she said “But why do you have to do it? It doesnt seem right that you HAVE to to be in the Church”, to which I really didnt have an answer. I know it says to confess your sins to one another, and thats one of the reasons why I believe in it along with the other ones I’ve stated, but what is the reason you HAVE to do this to be in communion with the Church? Thanks for your patience!!! Please pray for me and my family. God bless.

Is the Catholic who confesses his sins to a priest any better off than the non-Catholic who confesses directly to God? Yes. First, he seeks forgiveness the way Christ intended. Second, by confessing to a priest, the Catholic learns a lesson in humility, which is avoided when one confesses only through private prayer. Third, the Catholic receives sacramental graces the non-Catholic doesn’t get; through the sacrament of penance sins are forgiven and graces are obtained. Fourth, the Catholic is assured that his sins are forgiven; he does not have to rely on a subjective “feeling.” Lastly, the Catholic can also obtain sound advice on avoiding sin in the future.