So I understand that the standard element in the host MUST be wheat bread, or low-gluten. For example, from the UCCB website:
The Instruction, Redemptionis Sacramentum describes how "the bread used in the celebration of the Most Holy Eucharistic Sacrifice must be unleavened, purely of wheat, and recently made so that there is no danger of decomposition. It follows therefore that bread made from other substance, even if it is grain, or if it is mixed with another substance different from wheat to such an extent that it would not commonly be considered wheat bread, does not constitute valid matter for confecting the Sacrifice and the Eucharistic Sacrament.
And yet, in John 6:9-13, which is right before Jesus’ sermon on him being “the bread of life” – the first words where we see Jesus talking about eating his flesh, drinking his blood — the feeding of the 5,000 is done with **barley bread. **
8 Another of his disciples, Andrew, Simon Peter’s brother, spoke up, 9 “Here is a boy with five small barley loaves and two small fish, but how far will they go among so many?”*
Surely, there is a biblical and historical precedence for at least the use of barley bread, isn’t there? Considering those who have celiac disease and cannot have wheat, I cannot help thinking this UCCB restriction to wheat seems arbitrary and frustratingly inflexible
(NOTE: I am NOT yet Catholic. Still exploring and researching. I am very compelled by the GRAND picture, but I find these little things to be frustrating stumbling blocks)