Why the Greek 'Kyrie Eleison' at mass?

Hello,
I am an undergraduate music student and I am working on a project that explores the question of ‘why the Kyrie Eleison is the only part of the Mass parts that is not in Latin’. I have read through the entry in the Catholic Encyclopedia about its’ history but I didn’t find too much information that answers my question.
Does anyone have any information or guidance that could help me? Sources will be very helpful, too.
Thanks Everyone,
Joe

One priest I used know (God rest his soul) explained that the Kyrie is kept in Greek as a way of tying the Mass back to the earliest times when it was said in Greek by the original Apostles themselves. (This was back in the early '80s, before anyone had started doing it in English, yet.) That’s all the explanation I know. I hope it leads you somewhere.

I was taught that the Kyrie was the only Greek that survived the original translation of the Mass into the vulgar (that is to say, common) language of Latin. Apparently, the Greek-speaking end of the Church put their foot down for that much.

One theory says that the Kyrie is the vestige of the Great Ektania (Litany). The response to each petition of the litany was Kyrie Eleison (quite the same as was, and is, in the East). It seems to me the theory is very plausible, particularly considering the Kyrie’s placement within the Order of Mass (at least in the EF and other venerable and ancient usages of the West).

[quote=jmcrae](This was back in the early '80s, before anyone had started doing it in English, yet.)
[/quote]

The “early '80s” …? Is that the 1880’s? :confused:

1980s. The Mass was partly in English, partly in Latin, and the Kyrie remained in Greek. It wasn’t until 1987 that the whole Mass was converted into English - including the Kyrie.

Not quite true. The Alleluia remains in Hebrew.

God Bless