Why was communion on the hand instated in the first place?

What was the purpose of allowing the distribution of Holy Communion on the hands anyways? Was there a problem with receiving on the tongue? Is Communion on the hand more easier for priests? Could someone give me an explanation please?

My parish priest told me at the time that priests were delighted with the change.

I have to say, with many years experience now as an EMHC, I know what he meant. It can be pretty horrible giving COTT what with the spit and furry tongues, and nerve-racking as well with older people wearing dentures and scraping the Host off their tongue as they draw their tongue in.

It would probably be a good thing that you stop volunteering since you have described your horrible experience. Thanks for your service.

Why? I am resigned to it, so why should it bother you? The question was asked was the change easier for priests and I answered honestly.

This is so not your place to make this unkind, dismissive comment. As someone who also distributes Communion, I agree it is totally true COTT can be nerve-racking: people have forgotten - if they ever knew - how to open their mouths wide enough and extend their tongues far enough. This leave those distributing the Eucharist in the position of working their fingers into some mouths, or wondering if the Host may fall out, or having just a bit of extended tongue to work with. There is also a heightened sensitivity to passing along illnesses via saliva residue. These are things people in this ministry humbly accept, and the last thing they need is for you to disrespect them so.

Historically, it’s reappearance in the 20th century happened first in the Netherlands, if I recall. At the time, it was done in violation of the rules. Later, when it had spread more, it was given approval by Pope Paul VI. That letter should be on the Vatican’s website, from 1966 or 67, I think.