Wife wants to remain Mormon

We were baptized in that church a year ago. I came to realize that it is a fraud. I’m a journalist, so I ask many questions all the time. But my wife wants to stay a Mormon, even though she had already told me she wanted to go back to the Catholic Church, our true home.

I don’t know what to do. This is so serious for us, that she has considered separation. We have two little children, we are married in the Catholic Church… I know she doesn’t believe half of the Mormon doctrines, but she does believe in all the “eternal families” stuff, and she loves the social aspect of that cult.

Do you have any advice?

En Cristo,
Pablo

Just love your wife without having any expectations of her. Let her see what you hope for her to do, but don’t expect her to do anything to merit that love, including going back to the Church. If you do that, she will be able to see the power of the Catholic faith through your actions.

Above all, let yourself feel sorrow before you let yourself feel anger.

Pablo,

I am keeping you and your wife in prayer. Have peace in the Lord.

Also, you should study more the Catholic teachings of marriage, and Catholic spirituality. There is a book out by Ralph Martin, ‘The Fulfillment of All Desire’, and it is a favorite of seminarians. Martin gives history and teachings of various saints on the road to perfection, based on the Eucharist and the image of Christ as Groom, Church as Bridegroom. He speaks of marriage, of Christ centered friendships.

You should indeed return to the sacraments. Study your Catholic faith. And stay faithful to your wife.

Was it St Francis who said, “Preach the Gospel, use words if necessary?”

Your wife will feel the attraction to the Catholic Church through your life and how the fullness of the Life of Christ is reflected in you.

A Russian saint, Seraphim of Sarov said, “Acquire the Spirit of Peace and a thousand souls will be converted around you.”