Will I be able to date my senior year?

Assuming I will be going to seminary right after high school to discern Gods calling for me...

I am a Freshman about to be a sophomore. And I was wondering if I should date at all really?

I mean, I really have a small 'hope' I will become a priest, and I am looking forward to it, but I also understand that if Jesus is not calling me, then I should not keep on going against his will.

But I am discerning Gods will for me to be a priest. I was wondering if I should date at all? Or if so, when is the right time to stop looking? I assumed my senior year since that is when I will be applying to go to seminary with my diocese.

You’re not in seminary. Why not date?

Please date. Learn how to be a good date. Learn how to be respectful and respected whether you become a priest or not. So many males and females are running around not knowing how to date--they just "hook up". Learn how to have a good time with anybody, not just someone you find attractive. Learn how to be mature and responsible.

If you marry, you can teach your kids how to be good on a date.

If you are single, you will never be too lonely; word will get around that you are fun on dates.

And if you become a priest you can give good counsel to young adults and teenagers.

Our priest told us that before one decides to discern marriage (ie: date), they should discern to make certain they do not have a religious vocation. It is natural for us to want to get married; it's in our nature. Since dating is a precursor to marriage, you should not date unless you are 100% ready to get married, settle down and raise a family.

I guess the word “date” has several meanings. But I think a priest would be so much wiser as a priest if he actually knew how to take a girl out on a date. My sister went to her prom with a seminarian and he is now a very good monsignor. (And my sister is eternally grateful since he was handsome and impressed the others.)