Will Islam fill the void left by the decline in believing Christians?

telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/2042169/Bishop-Michael-Nazir-Ali-Radical-Islam-is-filling-void-left-by-collapse-of-Christianity-in-UK.html

Point is that religion, like nature, abhors a vacuum. As Christianity recedes in the developed world–including the United States–will Islam take its place? One wonders if 100 years from now, Islam will be the dominant faith in the United States as well as Europe. Scary thought. :imsorry:

Islam seems like it’s too tied to culture to really take over for Christianity. One of the great things about Christianity is that it is universal, it can incorporate itself into any culture. I’m not sure that can be said about Islam (I’m open to correction here since I’m not an expert by any means).

Secular Humanism is more likely to fill that void than another religion (with a healthy dose of “spiritual but not religious”).

Yes, but Secular Humanism is not a real faith, it’s just atheism with a spiritual veneer. And Islam has historically done fairly well in different cultures; southeastern Europe (Bosnia, Albania/Kosovo), Turkish Thrace and Asia (Philippines, Indonesia, Malaysia). Point is that societies that lack a strong Christian tradition are easily overrun by Islam.