Will smith on access hollywood

hi, i am new to this so i hope i am doing this right. i have been a will smith fan for many years and i was so shocked by what i heard him say a couple of days ago while defending scientology and particularly tom cruise: "“How can I condemn someone for what they believe and I believe that God was born from a pregnant virgin?” :bigyikes:
he also said something about 98% of what one faith teaches can be found in other faiths!!!
why do u guys think?

I think he sounds like a Christian who is tolerant and charitable about the beliefs of others. I’m not sure I’d agree on the exact percentage of what faiths have in common, but I do agree with the idea that many faiths recognize many common truths.

Well, he’s right inasfar as it is an outrageous belief from a worldly perspective. I’m glad he has identified himself as Christian, and (so far) I’ve found his movies entertaining, and without the offensive material most have.

he might identified himself as a christian but i do not think that a christian who knows his faith would say that 98% of what is in the bible is the same as in other faiths. and even though he is right from a worldly perspective i did not appreciate the condescending tone he used. and yes i do enjoy his movies as well

Well, what I mean by other faiths believing the same things is that “doing good” is noble and right, although the definition of what is “right” varies greatly.

Don’t forget that 86% of all statistics in conversation are made up on the spot. :wink:

Sounds like Mr. Smith is trying to be real charitable about the good things that many religions have in common.