Wine at Communion

I am currious about one point. I agree with the Catholic Church that the bread at the Eucharist should be unleavened. However should the wine contain alcohol or just be juice. The question comes from the fact that the first Lord’s Supper was at the eating of the Passover. The Mosaic law prohibitted consuming anything that had been made with leaven (yeast) during Passover, not just bread. Now I am not an expert on wine making but my understanding is that it is made with yeast. If this is the case, would not the wine at the Last Supper been alcohol free?

I doubt that it could have been alcohol free, because it would have been grape juice - something that someone pointed out wasn’t refined until the 20th Century.

Catholig

Orthodox Jews use wine for Passover. They would NOT use it if it were prohibited.

Grape juice naturally ferments - indeed before Welch developed his process in the 19th century, there was no way to keep it from fementing. Wine is and was used by Jews. Wine is required by Canon Law.

I would be shocked to learn that Jews (or anyone else for that matter) 2000 years ago had any idea that yeast was involved in fermentation - since fermentation would occur if you just left grape juice alone, adding nothing at all…

• Unleavened bread is used in the Latin Rite of the Church, but not all Eastern Rites.

• Wine is most certainly PARVE. Wine is consumed by observant Jews during Passover. Yeast was not overtly added to making wine in those days (yeast came in contact with the juice through other means.)

I once discussed this with a Protestant who used this to argue her group’s man-made position of no-alcohol consumption. Apparently she never took the time to actually research the Judaic use of wine, nor could she provide a biblical proof-text that supported her position.