With Whom Should I Bank? (Regarding Banks and Bad Donations)

I’m looking for a bank that does not give money to so-called “Planned Parenthood”. Currently, my student bank account (and, since I am a graduate student, it is therefore my primary bank account) is with Bank of America, which gives money to United Way, which gives money to Planned Parenthood, at least as far as the state of Pennsylvania is concerned.

My father recommends USAA as a good bank, but upon inspection, I discovered that they also give to United Way, perhaps even more than Bank of America! And they brag about doing so, whereas Bank of America is more discreet in its bad dealings.

I’m attending the University of Pennsylvania, and intend to look into the Student Federal Credit Union at the University of Pennsylvania. I will ask them soon whether they engage in charity or fundraising, and if so, to what end.

What do you recommend? Do you know of any good national banks that do not encourage immoral practices? (I’m interested in both checking and savings accounts.)

Thanks.

Great question! :thumbsup: Here’s a link to Life Decisions International, who publishes a comprehensive list of PP-donating businesses: http://www.fightpp.org/

You’ll notice the names of several large banks right off the bat.

Does the Vatican Bank take deposits?

Beware the trolls. :rolleyes:

I know this isn’t the answer you’re looking for, but put your money under your mattress! It earns more interest there! :smiley:

It’s good that you’re being conscientious in whom you give business to. I think it might be hard to find a bank that doesn’t give to some questionable organization, at least a large bank. I think the degree of proximite evil here is very small - indeed, you could put your savings in your credit union and then hear the credit union announce it’s donating $1,000 to Planned Parenthood for this that or the other thing, and you’re back to square one.