Woah! Large Faith Formation Class - Help!

Hey guys! I am a new Faith Formation teacher this year. I had my first class last night. I teach 3rd grade and there were 27 kids in my class! I had been planning on around 12! I have more boys than girls. Many of the activities I had planned for the kiddos won’t really work with that many kids - or at least, will be really difficult. I’m looking for fun crafts and/or activities that I can do with that many kids. Our classroom isn’t huge, so we don’t have a whole lot of room for games and stuff. Things they can do while sitting at their tables would be best.

I appreciate your input!! :slight_smile:

Wow! I don’t think it’s a good idea to teach a class that large. Do you have an aide? You need to ask your DRE to try to find another catechist and split the class in half.

Sorry, I can’t think of any activities off the top of my head (I have never taught 3rd grade), but I think the bigger issue is the appropriateness of the class size.

You may also want to ask a Moderator to move this to the Evangelization forum, which is where a lot of catechists “hang out.”

Oh okay thanks! I don’t know how to ask a mod to move it but I will figure it out. :o Yes, I have an aide who is very helpful. All of our classrooms are required to have two adults at all times. Unfortunately, the numbers usually dwindle somewhat as the year goes on, so we expect that this class won’t stay so large - it will probably get down to around eighteen or twenty. We have already split the classes once, and we really just don’t have any more teachers to split them again. :frowning: Thanks though, I appreciate your response!

What text/series are you using? The publisher will have a website with suggested activities to go with the lesson - activities can be a challange with a large group and limited time, you can eat up the entire hour doing a game and never have any teaching.