Woman and gender

Hi everyone,

I am appealing to all of you for your learned comments. I am in first year theology and one of the assignments on ethics that I need to hand in is titled; “Woman and gender”. What is the churches stance and what has the church contributed towards gender equality?

Thanks…

We now have female altar servers in our diocese, unheard of a few years ago.

My wife is a lecter; I don’t think women used to get to be lecters either, but others will please chime in if I’m mistaken on that.

Alan

As a Theology student, you should be readily able to understand Mulieris Dignitatem (and appreciate how powerful it is!).

Additionally, you might note the last 3 Doctors of the Church have all been women (in 1970 Paul VI added St. Teresa of Avila and St. Catherine of Siena. John Paul II added St. Thérèse of Lisieux in 1997).

Finally, you may also want to read this Apostolic Letter concerning Radical Feminism and the Collaboration of Men and Women in the Catholic Church. It should be great source material.

God bless you in your studies, and may St. Matthew pray for your wisdom,
RyanL

read the new testament. the ideas of women’s roles and the relationship between husband and wife were revolutionary for the times. husbands and wives are told to submit to one another (unheard of before) and husbands were to be willing to die for their brides (again, unheard of…see the story of jacob where he puts not only his wife but his children in front of him so that esau would kill them first). every culture that Christianity has entered, the status of women has risen. i love that that can take place and we can still keep sacred the God-ordained roles for the sexes at the same time.

Probably more significant than the superficial ones I wrote about already, is the Church has promulgated teachings about the proper relationship between males and females, and thus promoted women by teaching the truth about them.