Work v. School

Hello, everyone, I am having trouble discerning whether this is a sin or not. I am a college student, and I have recently been hired to a second job. The problem is that it interferes with one class I am taking, and it is too late to drop the course. I repeat, I cannot drop the course. So it is either the job or that class. I am not in dire straits, so there is no extremely pressing circumstance which would require me to take on another job; nonetheless, I do not want to turn it down.

Would it be a sin to simply stop attending the course (which would result in a failing grade)? I’m willing to take the hit on my GPA.

Why would it be a sin? Attending college is a voluntary activity; dump the class if you want and take the failure.

While it may not be a sin it not very prudent to drop the class if you don’t need the money. A future employer will look at all your grades including the “failure.” I advise not to be guided by the pursuit of money if you don’t really need it and keep the class and do well in it. Just my opinion.

Doesn’t sound like a sin either way. Do what you think is best. Perhaps you can retake the class later on and have the other grade, instead, depending on school policy.

Is the temporary part time job more important than a required college course you need to graduate? Did you not start college to finish? If you do not need the job, finish the class. If you need “A” job, but this one interferes with college, find a different job. Finish what you start. As far as sin…I am not sure if either is sinful, but one is more prudent than the other. Focus on your education while you have the opportunity. Once you enter the workforce, it’s extremely difficult.