Working at a gas station that sells contraception?

Hey,

I was just hired at a gas station as a part-time customer service representative. I am a recent college graduate and, until I can find full-time work, I need some kind of employment. Seeing this, I was stoked when I heard I’ve been hired part-time.

However, I was talking with a Catholic friend tonight and he mentioned that, several years ago, he quit working at the same gas station company because he didn’t want to sell people contraceptives (condoms, etc). This was something I hadn’t even thought of, and we were discussing whether or not I, as a simple cashier, would have some kind of sin culpability in checking them out if they buy contraceptives from that store. Neither of us were absolutely sure, but he was leaning towards “Yes” and I was leaning towards “No.”

What do you guys think? I’m still leaning towards no sin on my part…but I don’t want to presume…

I think if you can’t do your job, you should find another job that you can do, like your friend did. You might find a range of opinions here on CAF. However, I am of the opinion that you do not have culpability in this matter. You are a cashier. You collect payment for items the gas station sells to its customers. If someone wants to buy condoms, you may be the one working the shift and you have to do your job. If someone manages to guilt you into not being able to do your job, then you need to find another job. Don’t take a job where it’s your responsibility to sell something that your conscience tells you that you can’t sell or to do something that your conscience tells you that you can’t do. Your boss hired you to run the cash register and sell items in his gas station. That’s what you were hired to do.