Working full time in apologetics--any ideas?

Hello all,

I am a recent college grad (got my Bachelor’s a year ago), and I am looking for work. I worked a summer position this past May-August, and am looking for something to replace that now.

My degree was in environmental science, and while I like that field, I think that my true calling is to do something for the Church professionally. I am a recent revert to Catholicism (Confirmed May 2010), and I really love writing and reading Catholic apologetics. I am currently working on a book detailing my conversion, and I have lately been getting into rather lengthy apologetics debates with Protestant friends on Facebook. I also like to get into discussions/debates with Protestant street preachers when I see them at the town where I went to college (I still visit quite often). I have had a good amount of experience in pro-life work as well, and have become experienced in explaining and defending the pro-life position. I really enjoy explaining and defending the faith, and have had people tell me that I have a talent at it.

My question is, what steps would I have to take to do this kind of stuff professionally? I know that there are a lot of professional, full-time Catholic apologists (ie: this website), so how do I get started in this field? I am currently trying to find a job related to my degree (environmental science), and figure that I should probably get established in that in the meantime, maybe until I finish my book.

1. There does seem to be a pretty big demand for apologetics these days.

2. But so much of that demand is met for free by web sites, blogs, and discussion forums, like this very one.

3. I think the total number of paid (both full-time and part-time) Catholic apologetics workers in the USA might be as few as 15. I’m not kidding. It might be that small.