Working musician/ tax obligation

I used to be a regularly gigging musician, then my son was born. My son is grown up now, and I have been offered a job in a 60’s and 70’s soul/r&b band that plays mostly private parties but some clubs. The better paying jobs will be 1090’d but the lighter paying ones will be cash under the table. When I did this 20+ years ago, most monies were under the table. In Catholic doctrine, am I obligated to report that money and pay taxes on it? If the answer is “yes”, and I suspect that it is, I am inclined to just donate 100% of the monies from the lighter paying gigs that are not 1090’d. Anyways, I’m hoping for a full blown discussion on the ethics of this sort of thing.

I think you already know the answer to this question.

Donating to a good charity would be the best solution. Certainly, a Catholic cannot advise anyone to dodge income taxes, as tempting as that might be.

I don’t know what tax bracket you are in, but it could be that you wouldn’t have to pay much tax on it, so why not declare it (assuming the law requires it) and ease your conscience?

Under the law, even if you “just donate 100% of the monies from the lighter paying gigs,” you are still required to include it in your gross income. If you donate it to a qualified charity you can deduct it on Schedule A. (Which may or may not be helpful to you, depending on your particular situation.)

I can’t speak with any authority about how Catholic doctrine applies to the Internal Revenue Code, but I seem to remember something about rendering unto Caesar the things that are Caesar’s.