"World without end, Amen?"

Why do we implore this at he end of so many prayers?

Just curious, thanks

God bless

I am no theology expert, but I will try my hand.

In a way, that prayer is true. It is a world without end. It just is not this world. As Christians we are in this world, but not of it. Perhaps that prayer concerns the World that will not end, the eternal world, with Christ Jesus.

Just my two cents, sure an apologist will arrive and correct me.

Thanks for your input NWU

Actually it derives from a mistranslation of the Latin. More accurately it means “from generation to generation.”

I’ve heard this mistranslation was originally perpetrated by Henry VIII, who fancied himself a Latin scholar.

[quote=Fidelis]Actually it derives from a mistranslation of the Latin. More accurately it means “from generation to generation.”

I’ve heard this mistranslation was originally perpetrated by Henry VIII, who fancied himself a Latin scholar.
[/quote]

Now that is interesting! Thank you too and bless you

[quote=Fidelis]Actually it derives from a mistranslation of the Latin. More accurately it means “from generation to generation.”

[/quote]

I told you my interpretation would be incorrect, lol. Further proof, right here. I like my interpretation more though :smiley:

Yes, its a mistranslation of “in saecula saeculorum” which means, roughly, “in ages of ages”.

The Glory Be should probably be translated:

“Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, who was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, even unto ages of ages” or “forever and ever” if you don’t literally translate the latin idiom.

I mean, in one part of the KJV it says that the souls in hell will be “tormented world without end,”. Hardly makes sense if we view “world without end” as a sudden arbitrary insertion of a flawed cosmological view.