Worried that i'm using the priesthood has an escape

Hi everyone

So as you know I’ve had the feeling that i’ve felt a call to the priesthood and am kind of treading lightly since other than a bit of a longing in my heart for a few things, I’m not 100%sure i’m called to the priesthood.

Anyway, my big anxiety around this is that I currently am not thrilled with my current job as a teacher. Now don’t get me wrong, everyone has bad days at their job and a lot of people dislike their jobs. My worry is that my longing for the priesthood is simply just a longing to get out of my job (its my first year as well so things be rough out here).

Whenever I think about the priesthood, I don’t think of it as an escape. I know it will be tough and that things aren’t going to be any better than any other path in life I choose. But I guess I feel like I would be able to go deeper into my spirituality and be able to do things that matter to people. Sometimes in my current state I feel like i’m spinning my wheels. I just hope that I’m not using a potential vocation as an escape hatch from life.

How would I know this? I feel a calling in my heart but I don’t know if I’m just longing for a change or if its an actual call.

God Bless

Nocoast

If you haven’t already, you need to talk to your priest about this. He’s the first step in discerning a calling. If the priesthood is not God’s call, at least you’ll have sorted it out so that you can be content in whatever God has for you. It’s better to feel you have a calling and look into it than to be discontented all your life wondering if you should have done it. You have my prayers.

Priesthood isn’t an escape.
It’s just as difficult a life as any other as you suspect, and it is lifelong.
And people don’t always listen or do as advised, any more than do school-children.
Being a priest is also being a teacher.