worship of statues

Do Catholics worship Idols, or believe statues of significant people can give blessing?

[quote="MITCH1234, post:1, topic:278758"]
Do Catholics worship Idols, or believe statues of significant people can give blessing?

[/quote]

Absolutely not. A statue represents the saint , Jesus etc. Does a person love a picture of their deceased mother, as in the actual material piece of film? No. But do they love their actual mother which is what the photo represents. Yes.

Hello, and welcome to then forums :thumbsup:

Regarding your question, I’m still learning apologetics myself so I’ll try and answer the best I can(if I’m wrong someone please correct me) :o

Catholics don’t worship statues, we honor the saints they are supposed to represent. When you look at a picture of someone close to you, what happens? Memories immediately rush in, no doubt. The same is true of the way Catholics use statues. When we see a statue of St. Paul for example, we’re reminded of his preserverence and committment to the Gospel, bravery in preaching it, and his absolute trust in God. The statue helps paint a picture in our head to reflect on, and motivates us to strive to model our lives as they did( they modeled their lives after Jesus.) In the Bible, God even commanded the building of statues and icons! It’s when people started to WORSHIP the statues and icons themselves that they became false gods and idols, and THAT’s what the promblem is. :slight_smile:

[/quote]

Catholic do not worship statues.

The Bible shows that statues can have both legitimate (sacred decoration, worship focus) and illegitimate (idol worship) uses in worship.

Hi Mitch,

Welcome to the forums. Please read these to help answer your question…

catholic.com/tracts/saint-worship
catholic.com/tracts/do-catholics-worship-statues

MITCH1234, please consider obtaining a copy of Catholicism for Dummies. It will explain the truth about the faith.