Wow dating and discernment is scary

I want to post the following article from Catholic Match (shortened a bit). It was about red flags in dating and knowing what to do when you encounter them in relationships:

We tend, instead, to divinize our own feelings. We assume that if we feel a certain way, it must be God speaking infallibly to us. I find that many, many people talk about something being “God’s will”, when it’s clearly only their own will with holy water sprinkled on it.

What is scary is the part I bolded. I'm pretty sure, after talking to people and my psiritual director and applying elements from The Spiritual Exercises to my life that I am called to marriage and academia. But then I see stuff like that and panic because I can't tell if I discerned correctly even though I logically know that I have.

The other problem is that when I read stuff like this and consider dating I don't know how it'll even work. I have no dating experience and I fear that I will either horribly butcher any attempts at marriage and end-up in a bad marriage or that I'll never succeed; everything seems so difficult! And when it comes to discernment there is so much uncertainty that I cannot even begin to see how I'll ever make the right choices or decisions because everything is too confusing!

What should I do?

Thanks for sharing that quote, thats really deep stuff!

So, for this being my first post on this site, I chuckle at my response.

Usually the first thing a Priest/Religious brother says and the last thing I want to hear is...

"Pray about it."

Sure, I would love to just hear God say,"Go, do this now and do this later.." But that is not God's way. He speaks to us in the quiet and silence.

I'm only 22, and I have about 4 solid years of questioning what God wants me to do with my life, but I've also found that advice from above is the best advice I can pass on.