"You have to make a commitment...or else you are not welcome here." Need advice!

That is what my parish priest told my husband this past Sunday, and I’m still reeling about it. I know I’m a newbie here, but I’d like some advice/feedback on this matter, as it’s eating me up inside.

Here’s the background… My youngest daughter was born in December (my first post was actually about not having Godparents lined up for her – that’s been solved, thank God!), and my husband went to the priest a few weeks ago to discuss her baptism. Once my husband finally got a hold of the priest, he was told to wait a week and call him. After a week, my husband went back to him and was told to “give me the courtesy of a telephone call” in an abrupt way. Fine, it’s no secret that this priest lacks people skills. Later that afternoon, my husband called the priest and was immediately met with an attitude. The priest told my husband that he feels used because we only come to church when we need something, and that if we are not making a commitment to the church, then we are no longer welcome there. However, just this once, he would do this “favor” for us and baptize our child.

Now, I have to be honest. We had a lengthy period of time where we were not attending Mass at this parish or at all because of personal feelings. Part of it was because of a negative experience with this same priest at my middle daughter’s baptism, when he yelled at me for something very petty, and part of it was just nonchalance about Mass attendance. However, after doing a lot of talking about how we would like our children brought up in my husband’s faith (he is actually Byzantine Catholic, not Roman rite), we decided we would return – for good – to this parish back in September '07, and at that time, enrolled our daughters in ECF, the equivalent to CCD in the Roman rite church.