You Think Chant is Too Hard for You?

youtube.com/watch?v=9qfQM8vTTmA

Chant is not too hard for anyone, unless they are unwilling to learn it. It is natural for a three year old to memorize. It is equivalent to putting a dry sponge in a pool of water and it absorbing moisture. This video should inspire us to take advantage of the grammar stage of a child’s learning and pump them full of valuable worship resources…Scripture, psalms, hymns, spiritual songs, prayers. This young man has a great advantage already. :wink:

My first exposure to actually singing chant was at a three-day personal retreat that I had at the local Benedictine monastery a year or so before my confirmation. I had a couple advantages, in that I am a trained classical musician, and I had had chant CDs running during my sleep time for several years. Anyhoo, when I sat in on the prayers and looked at the books, it was almost like I had been doing it all my life.

[quote="romandrojas, post:2, topic:304520"]
Chant is not too hard for anyone, unless they are unwilling to learn it. It is natural for a three year old to memorize. It is equivalent to putting a dry sponge in a pool of water and it absorbing moisture. This video should inspire us to take advantage of the grammar stage of a child's learning and pump them full of valuable worship resources...Scripture, psalms, hymns, spiritual songs, prayers. This young man has a great advantage already. ;)

[/quote]

I find chant difficult. I'm a good pianist (classically trained, but I play all kinds of music), and I'm learning the organ.