YouCat experience

Would like to grow in faith.

Looking for any experience with the YouCat. Or should I jump into the real deal?

Also have rounded the corner on the next bible I purchase. I am down to RSV-SCE, or Douay-Rheims Challoner.

----One thing is on my mind, Which one has better notes? Which one would I learn more from?

How old are you?

I’ve seen this caution about the YouCat at a Catholic bookstore that gives the current controversial issues in question.

31, wife is 27, I was under the impression the Catholic Church still defines youth as under 34.

I don’t really recommend the YouCat, although I can’t say anything negative about it. Well, I can. I think the pictures make it so that it will be dated in 10 years. It is an attempt to make the catechism cool and trying to be cool usually doesn’t work. Again, I may be wrong, for I have no experience using it with the age group is is geared towards.
It seems geared towards teenagers and college age (I had bought it hoping to use it for my CCD class but it is a little too grown-up for my students). As a teenager, I studied the CCC and it seems much better suited. As an adult, I still reccommend the CCC. I’m not sure whose guidelines say youth is 34 and under (what happens at 35?).

At your age I would recommend the Catechism, the regular one. If you go through it, it will also serve as a good reference later on.

I would recommend the YouCat for those that are high school or college age. After you are out of school, age 25 or so, you are too old for the YouCat.

This is good advice. I would recommend starting with this first, though.
I found this to be easy to read, and it gives references to the actual catechism.

I found that after reading the US Catechism for Adults and cross-refrencing to the actual CCC, I had a better general understanding of Church teaching and I became more comfortable with the language & set-up of the latter.
Then was able to read & comprehend the CCC much better.