Young Adults and Living at Home

Hello all and good morning!

I just wanted to get a general concensus on what others believe about a young adult living at home with one’s parents/family.

Personally; I am soon to be 20, not in school, working full time and piling most of my money that I earn in the bank for when I hopefully will be ready for marriage in the future. I live at home with my family/eat dinners/go to mass together, etc… I love being with my family!!! Many people call me independent and industrious. I am Mr Fixit, and my mother has told me I “pay my rent” fully with all the work I do around the house and garage (I was an auto mechanic for a year and a half, so I have done many costly repairs on my parents vehicles for free)

The reason I have for some uneasiness is from what I see around me. About half of my peers seem to be living out of the house, with a mixture being in school/ work.

Im just wondering if one living at home until they are married is proper, or else?? Personal experiences/advice appreciated:thumbsup:

There is no right answer. It seems like you have a wonderful relationship with your family and you appear to be level-headed. After I returned home from graduate school, I lived at home for six months. I landed a really great job and eventually got an apartment and moved it out. The apartment was very close to my parents house and I was home very often. My job moved me out of the state after six months or so. I think having the apartment helped make that transition a lot easier.

I left home at 21 when I got married, and if I hadn't my mom's plan was to keep me at home for several years. She does NOT like the idea of her children growing up and leaving the nest at all. My brother is 20 and still at home, and probably will until stay there for several years after college. Personally, I probably would have left home as soon as I got a job after college graduation if I hadn't gotten married. I love my family, but I was ready to be on my own.